Sunday, July 26, 2015

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Adelina Amoutera is a survivor of the blood fever. When the deadly disease swept through her nation, many died; those who survived were left with markings.  Some had odd-colored hair or eyes, some were left with ugly scars. Adelina has silver hair and a jagged scar where her left eye once was.  Her cruel father believes that she is an abomination, a curse to her family's good name, and an obstacle to to their fortune.

Some fever survivors were not only left with scars, but also emerged from the fever with mysterious powers. These people are referred to as the Young Elites and are seen as a threat to a government that wants them destroyed. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them - to train them to eventually overthrow the government and take over power. When Adenina's powers become evident, she is recruited to join the group. Her potential power is unlike any seen, but is also very dangerous if it isn't controlled. She may also be a risk to the group due to the handsome leader's feelings for her. This is a dark fantasy written by Marie Lu, author of the Legend series. The Young Elites is sure to appeal to fans of Legend, Divergent, and Delirium



No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.